Two awards at one ceremony

  • 0
  • March 10, 2023


The 2022 ALCS Educational Writers Award is given each year to:  ‘an outstanding example of traditionally published non-fiction that stimulates and enhances learning’. The 2022 award was made on 22 February 2023 at the Goldsmith’s Ccentre, London. The winning title was What’s the T?, which ALCS describes as ‘a no-nonsense guide to all things trans and non-binary written by award-winning author and former PSHE teacher, Juno Dawson, with drawings by visual artist and illustrator, Soofiya.’

Published by Hachette Children’s Group. ISBN: 9781526362827.

Runners-up were The Place For Me: stories about the Windrush Generation (Scholastic) and Musical Truth: A Musical Journey Through Modern Black Britain (Faber).

The same event saw the presentation of the Ruth Rendell Award, which ‘celebrates individuals who have gone above and beyond to promote literacy.’ This year there were two joint winners: author and illustrator Dapo Adeola and author and teacher Nigel Lungenmuss-Ward. Dapo was recognised for his work helping children from under-represented ethnic minority backgrounds and for his role as an ambassador to the National Literacy Trust.


Leave a Reply